How I Started A Life-Changing Journey Of Over 3,600 Hours

It's widely believed that learning a skill to mastery takes 10,000 hours. Four months ago, I took the first step in investing over 3,600 hours to become proficient in a skill.

How?

The ALX Software Engineering Program. Yes, I know, you're probably thinking it's just one of those MOOCs where learners cram their way to a certificate that makes no difference, except adding to a series of empty claims. I've been there a lot of times. So I didn't start this journey just to get a certificate, even though it provides one.

Before I tell you more about why I started, let me tell you about ALX.

What's ALX?

ALX is part of the African Leadership Group (ALG), which also includes the African Leadership Academy (ALA), the African Leadership University (ALU), and The Room. ALX is a professional career accelerator that is an integral part of the ALG's mission to raise 3 million ethical and entrepreneurial leaders in Africa by 2030.

The ALX Software Engineering Program requires a minimum investment of 70 hours per week over 1 year. But does it have to be that intense? Yes, and that's because it's not just some video lessons and exercises you can binge on. It is strictly project-based and teaches both technical and soft skills by doing.

Why I started the Journey

Within 10 days of starting, I was tasked with interviewing someone. I had a 30+ mins call with a peer on growth mindset and kept an activity log - things I usually wouldn't do to learn a skill. This is exactly why I started the journey, to not just cram code but to become a:

  • Proficient problem solver that can use common resources to build solutions

  • Fullstack engineer by building projects and doing the hard stuff

  • Technical writer

Yes, the program includes all of those things and more! Besides those things, I will write about my learning and experiences here. I hope you follow me on this journey, and I promise to tell you all about it.